Update on the Enrollment API - November 2020 - Appsembler

Update on the Enrollment API – November 2020

The
Tahoe Enrollment API supports enrollments for multiple learners on multiple courses. This API has worked correctly allowing Tahoe customers to write creative integrations. The API needed to support unenrollment as well and that’s what we were working on recently.

During the work, we found a bug in the Enrollment API in the response body. This bug affects API calls enrolling a customer in more than one course as explained in the example below.

Expected (correct) Results: The response it should show the status for both courses with before/after states (pseudo code below):

$ curl -X POST v1/enrollment 
    -d '{"courses": "course1", "course2"}'
{
    ...
    "results": [{
        // Enrollment status for course1
    },{	
        // Enrollment status for course2
    }]
    ...
}
	

Current (incorrect) Results: It shows the enrollment status for the last course only, omitting the the information about other courses:

$ curl -X POST v1/enrollment 
    -d '{"courses": "course1", "course2"}' 
{   ...   
    "results": [{
        // Enrollment status for course2
    }]
    ...
}
		

How the update is going to happen?

The update has been enabled via a feature flag that our Customer Success team control in coordination with our Engineering team. We already released the unenrollment API update and the fix for results is included but disabled behind that feature flag.

When the update will happen?

Now that you’ve read this, you can ask your customer success manager to enable this change for your site when you’re ready for it. We’ll be deprecating this feature flag (and this document) in a few months and switching all sites over to this new version, but if you want the latest updates to this API (such as the ability to unenroll learners), you’ll need to switch over sooner rather than later.

Action Required

Basically none, apart from letting your CSM know whether to enable the feature (and the fix). We expect that all integrations work
without needing to get modified. We wanted to let you know early just in case it breaks something so we can adjust accordingly. If it breaks your site and you want to revert back to the previous version while you work on accepting the new output, we can do that too up until the feature flag is deprecated.